Other Committees

Education & Training Committee (ETC)

The ETC is in charge of developing and managing education and training activities of the ESVS. The Committee meets three times per year, at the ESVS Annual Meeting in September, at Charing Cross in April and in December usually in Brussels.

ChairmanDr Jonas Eiberg, Denmark
The EVST RepresentativeDr Claudia Schrimpf, Germany
Convenor of Open workshopsDr Carl Wahlgren, Sweden
Convenor of Non-invasive Investigations and Medical WorkshopsDr Ramon Vila, Spain
Convenor of Endovascular workshopsProf. Isabelle van Herzeele, Belgium
Convenor of Venous workshopsDr Stephen Black, United Kingdom
Training team lead:Dr Fernando Gallardo, Spain
EJVES Representative:Dr Jonathan Boyle, United Kingdom

Guidelines Committee

The Guidelines Committee was setup in 2013 with the responsibility to identify topics and develop guidelines.

Prof. Philippe Kolh (Chairman), BelgiumProf. Gert Jan de Borst (Co-chairman), Netherlands
Dr. Melina Vega, SpainProf. Ross Naylor, United Kingdom
Prof. Nabil Chakfe, FranceProf. Fabio Verzini, Italy
Dr. Rob Hinchliffe, United KingdomProf. Frank Vermassen, Belgium
Prof. Sebastian Debus, GermanyDr. Igor Koncar, Serbia
Dr. Stavros Kakkos, GreeceDr. Jes Lindholt, Denmark


Vascunet is a sub-committee of the European Society of Vascular Surgery which aims to increase knowledge and understanding of vascular disease, and to promote excellence in vascular surgery, by means of international vascular audit.

Kevin Mani (Chair), SwedenIan Thomson, New Zealand
Martin Björck, SwedenBirgitta Sigvant, Sweden
Georg Heller, SwitzerlandBarry Beiles, Australia
Nikolaj Eldrup, DenmarkPius Wigger, Switzerland
Ian Loftus, United KingdomElin Laxdal, Iceland
Gabor Menyhei, HungaryMaarit Venermo , Finland
Jonathan Boyle, United KingdomEike Sebastian Debus, Germany
Cristina Lopez Espada, SpainMartin Altreuther, Norway
Carlo Setacci, ItalyZoltán Szeberin, Hungary
Mike Clarke, United KingdomChristian Behrendt, Germany

Local Organising Committees

The 2017 Annual Meeting’s programme is under the responsibility of the ESVS Executive Committee, together with a local Chairman, Dr Philipe Nicolini from France, as well as with the support of Prof. Fabien Thaveau from France.