About ESVS

Our mission: “to improve vascular health for the public benefit”


  • ESVS sets the standards in preventing and managing vascular disease
  • ESVS is the leading training organisation with standardised and recognised education pathways
  • ESVS is the leading scientific organisation in vascular care
  • ESVS is a professional organisation with a sustainable business model


The European Society for Vascular Surgery was founded and inaugurated on May 6, 1987 in London. This inaugural meeting was attended by Presidents or Representatives of almost all the National Vascular Societies in Europe, who supported the formation and aims of the ESVS. The Officers and Members of the Council were proposed and elected, ensuring a satisfactory representation from various European countries. It was further agreed that the Society would generally meet in September each year. The Society has grown enormously since and has now over 2800 members, mostly European, but many from other parts of the world.

ESVS Secretary General

The ESVS Secretary General is elected into a five year term preceded by one year shadowing the current Secretary General. They sit on a number of committees, including the Executive Committee.

The following members have served as Secretary General of the society
2020 – presentProf. Maarit Venermo, Finland
2015 – 2020Prof. Sebastian Debus, Germany
2009 – 2015Mr. Simon Parvin, United Kingdom
2004 – 2009Prof. Henrik Sillesen, Denmark
1999 – 2004Prof. Michael Horrocks, United Kingdom
1994 – 1999Prof. Giorgio Biasi, Italy
Prof. Hero van Urk, The Netherlands

ESVS President

The President of the Society is elected for one year at the Annual General Meeting. The President, President Elect and the Deputy President Elect are part of the Executive Committee.

The following members have served as Presidents of the society
2021Hence Verhagen, the Netherlands
2020Stéphan Haulon, France
2019Henrik Sillesen, Denmark
2018Alison Halliday, United Kingdom
2017Martin Björck, Sweden
2016Jürg Schmidli, Switzerland
2015Arkadiusz Jawien, Poland
2014Jean-Baptiste Ricco, France
2013George Hamilton, United Kingdom
2012Carlo Setacci, Italy
2011Vincent Riambau, Spain
2010Gustav Fraedrich, Austria
2009Frans Moll, the Netherlands
2008John Wolfe, United Kingdom
2007Jan Brunkwall, Germany
2006Jesper Swedenborg, Sweden (1940-2016)
2005Christos Liapis, Greece
2004Mauri Lepäntalo, Finland
2003Tomislav Sosa (1948-2006), Croatia
2002André Nevelsteen, (1951-2009), Belgium
2001William Paaske (1948-2016), Denmark
2000Anatoly Pokrovsky
1999Alain Branchereau, France
1998Bert Eikelboom, The Netherlands (1947-2018)
1997Lars Norgren, Sweden
1996José Fernandes e Fernandes, Portugal
1995Peter Bell, United Kingdom
1994Takis Balas, Greece
1993Georg Kretschmer (1941-2013), Austria
1992Paolo Fiorani, Italy
1991Emilio Viver Manresa (1935-2012), Spain
1990Mieszyslaw Szostek, Poland
1989Henner Müller Wiefel, Germany
1988Hans O Myhre, Norway